Canada Time zones -

Would you believe a Canadian came up with the idea of standardized time? Prior to 1885, towns set their time by the sun. Noon meant the sun was directly overhead, which worked for some but caused massive headaches for people like Sir Sandford Flemming, Chief Engineer of the Canadian Pacific Railway.

The lack of any official time structure often caused problems for departure and arrival times for his trains, especially with a country as large as Canada. Flemming's first proposal of 24 time zones worldwide was met with wide opposition and criticism. Eventually, Flemming's idea of standard time was approved. It went into effect on January 1, 1885.

Canada is divided into six different time zones, listed below from east to west.

1. Newfoundland (Newfoundland) +1:30
2. Atlantic (Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, PEI, Labrador) +1:00
3. Eastern Standard Time (Quebec, Ontario)
4. Central (Manitoba, Saskatchewan, Nunavut) - 1:00
5. Mountain (Alberta and Northwest Territories) - 2:00
6. Pacific (British Columbia and Yukon) - 3:00

Home | Add/Modify Listing | Photo Gallery | Maps | Contact | About Us | USA Privacy Statement

This site is operated by 2024 Cedar Lake Software

LastModified: Apr-11-10