Northwest Territories -


South Slave
North Slave
Deh Cho.
Beaufort Delta/Artic Coast

The Northwest Territories is a territory located in northern Canada. It is east of Yukon, west of Nunavut, Canada's two other territories, north of British Columbia, Alberta, and Saskatchewan. It has an area of 1,140,835 square kilometres and a population of 41,464 as of 2006. Its capital has been Yellowknife since 1967.

Geographical features include the vast Great Bear and Great Slave Lakes, as well as the immense Mackenzie River and the canyons of the Nahanni River, a national park and UNESCO World Heritage Site. Territorial islands in the Arctic Archipelago include Banks Island, Parry Peninsula, Prince Patrick Island, and parts of Victoria Island and Melville Island. The highest point is Mount Nirvana near the border with Yukon at elevation 2,773 m (9,098 ft).

Adapted from WikiTravel under the Wiki License

Home | Jobs | Add/Modify Listing | Photo Gallery | Maps | Contact | About Us | USA Privacy Statement

This site is operated by 2019 Cedar Lake Software

LastModified: May-21-10